Workshop- My own private LCC

 

In this workshop the aim was to produce a cartographic outcome using LCC as the inspiration behind the construction of this. The task was to reflect on what LCC means to us emotionally and create something depicting this in a physical, visual way.

The point of this task was to produce a map of LCC which incorporated emotions and presenting these emotions in a visual way. The map is a vague term and could be taken as literally as we perceived.

Screen Shot 2019-02-06 at 19.22.50.png

I really liked the approach of ideas by John Krygier’s students’s map via mapmaking.net (pictured above). I like the way they have categorised each emotion and have created a visual mood board.

 

I decided to take a similar approach when mind mapping my piece, taking each emotion I feel when in LCC and categorising it in groups. This really helped create a visual image of what I wanted and I started sketching these ideas in rough.

 I made a narrative combining all these notes: 

The first thing you see when you go to LCC is ‘the creative pioneers’ the students are at the heart of the university.  Despite the grey corridors , endless stairs and dead pigeons on the outside of the tower block, students bring the university to life.    

Published by Katie Butler

IVM

Leave a comment